Frank O’Hara- Song (I am Stuck in Traffic)

One of my favorite Frank O’Hara poems that I figured I would share.  Written in 1960.

 

SONG

 

I am stuck in traffic in a taxicab

which is typical

and not just of modern life

 

mud clambers up the trellis of my nerves

must lovers of Eros end up with Venus

muss es sein? es muss nicht sein, I tell you

 

how I hate disease, it’s like worrying

that comes true

and it simply must not be able to happen

 

in a world where you are possible

my love

nothing can go wrong for us, tell me

Leave a Reply

