The Future

(So, I wrote this while laying in bed the other night and thinking of the new Levi’s slam poetry commercial (see it- http://youtu.be/fsP6XTHBwRw).  I’ve never really written a piece like this and I kinda like it.  Just promise that you’ll read it with your best mental slam-poetry voice 🙂 )

You can never deny

my right to dream

my right to fly

To think bigger

than I am

to go achieve

when I can

It’s a curse

to be ambitious

while the world is vicious

What is Destiny

with its partner Fate?

Just party-goers who arrive late

The fun has started

it’s already here

Twirling, dancing

without fear

There’s no stopping

as I speed down the track

with the sun on my face

and the wind at my back

(10/19/12)

Leave a Reply

